An Online Catholic School, Teaching the Modern World   

Series 50: Councils of the Catholic Church


When you think of the Councils of the Church, you probably imagine a group of Cardinals and Bishops quietly discussing obtuse theological doctrines which have no practical implications. Perhaps a loud cough is heard once in a while but, on the whole, it is a staid affair. Actually, the Councils were anything but impractical or quiet. There were loud disagreements and accusations of heresy. You will read about wars, riots, murders and shipwrecks as well as anti-popes and the suppression of the Templars. The Council members cared deeply about the religious and social problems of their day, arguing for months, sometimes years, in order to find a solution. Each chapter of the book contains a discussion of why the Council was called and what happened at the Council, as well as Biblical references and prayers. You shall meet many saints (from Saint Francis to Saint Nick) as well as a few characters not so holy. Each Council has its own exciting story but each has a unifying theme in the Church’s unending mission to guide souls to God.

All CatechismClass Lessons follow our time-tested 7 Step format: Introduction, Opening Prayers, Scripture and Commentary, Catechism Passages, Integration of the Lesson Topic, an activity, and a closing prayer.

Buy Councils of the Catholic Church for only $24.95

By purchasing Councils of the Catholic Church as a series you save $55.84 versus the combined cost of the individual lessons!

Councils of the Catholic Church contains all of these lessons:

  • Councils #1: Council of Nicea, 325
  • Councils #2: Council of Constantinople, 381
  • Councils #3: Council of Ephesus 431 A.D.
  • Councils #4: Council of Chalcedon 451 A.D.
  • Councils #5: Council of Constantinople, 553 A.D.
  • Councils #6 Council of Constantinople III 680-681
  • Councils #7: Council of Nicaea II, 787 A.D.
  • Councils #8 Council of Constantinople IV 869-870
  • Councils #9: Lateran Council I, 1123
  • Councils #10: Lateran Council II, 1139
  • Councils #11: Lateran Council III, 1179
  • Councils #12: Lateran Council IV, 1215
  • Councils #13: Lyon Council I, 1245
  • Councils #14: Lyon Council II, 1274
  • Councils #15: Vienne Council 1311-1312
  • Councils #16: Constance Council, 1415 to 1418
  • Councils #17: Council of Basel, Ferrara, Florence and Rome, 1431 to 1445
  • Councils #18: Council of Lateran V, 1512 to 1517
  • Councils #19: Council of Trent, 1545-1547, 1551-1552, 1562-1563
  • Councils #21: Vatican I, 1869 to 1870
  • Councils #22: Vatican II, 1962 to 1965
  • Councils of the Catholic Church is part of the following Package(s):

  • Parish All Access Pass Licensing Agreement
  • All Access Pass - Adults
  • Adult Faith Formation Package Level III
  • Purchase this Course in a package with other Courses and save even more !